Nanny / Family Assistant – Berlin


A full-time nanny/family assistant is needed for an entrepreneurial couple from the US that lives in central Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg), to help the family in looking after their 2-year-old child (girl). Someone who speaks English and German would be ideal.

All general nanny duties are required in this role.

A valid first aid qualification is needed for this position.

Working hours: 40 hours per week, usually Monday to Friday. Flexibility would be best. Some weeks could be more (with child overnights) and others less.

Size of Residences:

  • Berlin Main Apartment: 200 sqm, 3 bedrooms
  • Berlin Small Apartment: 40 sqm, 1 bedroom
  • Berlin Nanny/Help Apartment (possible): 200 sqm, 3 bedrooms
  • Falkensee Lake House: 300 sqm house, 2500 sqm land

Accommodation: They can provide an independent large apartment for the nanny/family assistant, very near their main apartment in central Berlin (Prenzlauer Berg).

Duties include:

  • assisting with bath time routine
  • dressing the child
  • cleaning up after every meal
  • preparing various age-appropriate activities
  • playing with the child
  • teaching general life skills, such as basic hygiene and manners

Their primary need is a fully available nanny. They need help getting their child into a kita, which they have a voucher for but have not started the application process. The couple work together and need to sometimes work late or travel for a few days and needs their child to stay with the nanny late or sometimes for several days in a row.

When their child gets into school, she will need to be dropped off and picked up every day and watched until they get home from work (sometimes unpredictable times). They would expect meals to be prepared for her, outdoor play, healthy or educational activities, and help with potty training. She has no special needs or special diet.

When their child is in class, they would like some basic household chores done, such as basic cleaning, laundry for the household, walking the dog, light shopping, etc. Mostly this would be at their main apartment in central Berlin, but some help with chores at their Brandenburg houses from time to time would be nice. Occasional child care at those houses during the day will be needed too.

Cooking for them is not necessary. Occasional travel with them to the US or elsewhere in Europe would be nice, but not necessary and not often.

They will provide a car for the nanny/family assistant as well.

Optionally, there are other family office / personal assistant needs that they have as well, should the candidate be interested in helping with them. This includes managing a small staff (in German), basic operations of a small dog rescue they run, finding and managing contractors (gardening, etc) for their properties as needs arise, finding caterers for small parties, etc.

This wonderful opportunity would need someone to start as soon as possible.

Applicants must be eligible to work in Germany.

Interested candidates who meet (or exceed) the needs of this wonderful opportunity in Berlin, Germany should email BUTLER FOR YOU / Silvia Richter or Sebastian Hirsch with full work history, a current photo and written references.

Salary: Euro 5.500,00 to Euro 8.000,00 gross per month

Location: Berlin, Germany

BUTLER FOR YOU – Serving Since 2007!